Spring forward is March 12, spring equinox is March 20


Daylight saving time (DST) returns at 2 a.m. Sunday, March 12. Set your clocks forward one hour. It is also a good time to check smoke-alarm batteries.

DST was first enacted in the United States in 1918, repealed the next year and reinstated as “war time” February 1942-September 1945 during World War II. It became permanent in 1966, and started in earlier than before in 1974, after President Richard Nixon signed the Emergency DST Energy Conservation Act because of an October 1973-March 1974 OPEC oil embargo.

President George W. Bush signed the Energy Policy Act in 2005, moving the end of DST from the last Sunday in October to the first Sunday in November and the start date to the second Sunday in March.

And by the way, the correct spelling (and the correct way to say it) is Daylight Saving Time – there is no “s” at the end of savings.

New Mexico is one of 48 states that observes DST. Only Arizona (except for the Navajo Nation) and Hawaii do not recognize DTS, along with American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Spring equinox

The 2021 spring equinox will take place at 3:24 p.m. MDT Monday, March 20.

Equinox is a Middle English word that means “equal night.” The equinox occurs at the exact moment when the Sun crosses Earth’s equator and day and night are of approximately equal length.