Candidates to file Aug. 29

Ballot will include municipal, school board, soil and water conservation district races, municipal and school bond questions


There will be nearly 40 races on the Tuesday, Nov. 7, local election ballot in five Doña Ana County municipalities, three school districts and five conservation districts.

Candidates must file at the Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office Tuesday, Aug. 29, to be eligible for the election.

To see a continuously updated list of people filing visit the New Mexico voter information portal, and scroll down to Doña Ana County.

Only qualified voters in each community or district will vote in its particular races. For example, all qualified voters in Las Cruces will vote in the races for mayor and for municipal judge I, but only voters in Las Cruces City Council Districts 1, 2 and 4 will vote in those council aces. Only qualified voters who reside in a particular school district or conservation district will vote in that district’s races.

This list was provided by the clerk’s office.

Municipal races

  • City of Las Cruces: Mayor; districts 1, 2 and 4 council seats; municipal judge I (
  • Town of Mesilla: Mayor, two trustees (
  • City of Anthony, New Mexico: Two trustees (
  • City of Sunland Park: Mayor, three city councilors (
  • Village of Hatch: Two trustees, municipal judge (

There may be municipal bond questions from any or all of the municipalities

School board races

  • Las Cruces Public Schools: Districts 1 (to complete unexpired term), 4 and 5 (
  • Gadsden Independent School District (GISD): Districts 1, 3 and 4 (
  • Hatch Valley Public Schools (HVPS): Districts 1, 3 and 4 (

School bond issues

  • GISD and HVPS each have public school capital improvements $2 mill tax questions on the ballot.
  • Doña Ana Community College has a $16 million general obligation bond question

Conservation districts

  • Doña Ana Soil and Water Conservation District: Board of Supervisors positions 1, 2 and 3 (
  • Caballo Soil and Water Conservation District: Board of Supervisors positions 1, 2 and 5 (
  • La Union Water Shed District: Secretary and treasurer (
  • Anthony Water and Sanitation District: Board of directors (
  • Lower Rio Grande Public Water Works Authority: Districts 1, 2 and 6 directors (
election file date